Édition Perce-Neige Ltée

Édition Perce-Neige Ltée

Official description as of June 1st, 2010

Brief history

Les Éditions Perce-Neige was created in 1980 at the initiative of the Association des écrivains acadiens (Association of Acadian Writers) and incorporated on April 2nd, 1986 by four poets: Herménégilde Chiasson, Rose Després, Gérald Leblanc and Dyane Léger. The publisher’s incorporation in 1986 as an NPO was followed by a lull (1986-1989).

Édition Perce-Neige Ltée

Two poets, Frédric Gary Comeau and Jean-Phillippe Raîche, revived it in 1990. Through their motivation, Gérald Leblanc took charge of the publisher’s literary direction in 1992, and soon thereafter the services of Paul Bourque were appointed, with whom a two-pronged direction was formed (literary direction/administrative direction).

In 1993, the publisher received a grant from the Canada Council of the Arts, which ensured its evolution into a subsidized organization. After the demise of Gérald Leblanc in the spring of 2005, Serge Patrice Thibodeau secured the publisher’s literary direction. In 2009, the organization moved towards a major restructuring. In addition to overseeing the literary direction, Serge Patrice Thibodeau became the publisher’s general director, and Jovette Cyr the administrative and production director. An administration board composed of seven members is also in place, which Éric Cormier presides over since 2010.

Mission statement

The objective of Les Éditions Perce-Neige is to publish, in French, books that testify to the continuity and renewal of contemporary Acadian literature. The publisher’s purpose is to showcase the life-blood of French-language literature in Acadie and to favour young authors who ensure its longevity.

Strictly a literary publisher, specializing in poetry, Les Éditions Perce-Neige also lends itself to the publication of works that are important to the Acadian literary heritage, notably in the Mémoire collection. The Prose (fiction) collection contains novels, short stories and travel narratives, while the non-fiction is found in the Essais et Documents collection. Authors from Louisiana also share the collection, Acadie tropicale.

The publisher prints all of its titles in accordance with the new French spelling. The interior of the books is printed on recycled paper that is certified by the Forest Stewardship Council.

Honors and awards garnered by the authors from 2007 to 2009

Georgette LeBlanc: Félix-Leclerc Award and the Antonine-Maillet-Acadie Vie Award

Raymond Guy LeBlanc: France-Acadie Award

Jean-Philippe Raîche: Louise-Labé Award and Aliénor Award (in France)

Germaine Comeau: Antonine-Maillet-Acadie Vie Award

Rino Morin Rossignol: Lieutenant Gouvernor of NB award for excellence in the literary arts in French

Serge Patrice Thibodeau: Governor General of Canada Award, Pascal-Poirier Award for excellence in the literary arts in French; Mention Gérald Leblanc of the Grand Prix international de la langue française Léopold-Sédar-Senghor (Paris); Chevalier de l’Ordre de la Pléiade, ordre de la Francophonie et du dialogue des cultures.

Éditions Perce-Neige Ltée

Serge Patrice Thibodeau,
General and literary director
Jovette Cyr, Administrative and production director

Address: Centre culturel Aberdeen 140, rue Botsford, bureau 22, Moncton (NB) E1C 4X4
Telephone: (506) 383-4446
E-mail: [email protected]

Recommended Articles